Sunday, December 19, 2010

One Good Thing And One Bad Thing About Knight and Squire #3

GOOD THING: This book has a unique spin on a classic idea: cloning an evil historical figure who makes another attempt and world domination. The twist is that instead of the usual "They Saved Hitler's Brain" scenario, the villain in question is Richard The Third. Who, as they are quick to point out, was probably not that bad of a king in reality but that he got a lot of bad press thanks to William Shakespeare's play, which sorta needed to paint Richard as a bad guy since he was fighting against Henry Tudor, Queen Elizabeth's ancestor, to take over England.

The best part? The super-villain habit of monologuing totally fits the character of Richard as written by Shakespeare, making his breaking the fourth wall to explain his schemes picture perfect for fans of The Bard and comics.

BAD THING: Much as I love this book, I must admit it is somewhat inaccessible to non-Anglophile Americans and other non-Brits. You do need to brush up on your Shakespeare and your British history to fully appreciate this issue.

The Final Verdict: It's a riotous treat for those of us who like British humor and culture. The rest of you will probably be totally lost.

No comments:

Post a Comment